*Please be advised the Concealed Carry Permit Application Fee has increased*
$50 Statutory Application Fee (plus $5 Online Service Fee) & $18 Background Check Fee (plus $3 Online Service Fee) are all due at the time of application.
$150 Check or Money Order payable to the “Monroe Twp. Police Department” or Credit Card Payment is due at the time of approval at the Monroe Twp. Police Department
Please visit the NJSP Forms to Download Page for the latest guidelines and forms that are required to complete this application including:
CCARE (Civilian Carry Assessment and Range Evaluation) Memorandum September 15, 2023: Click Here
CCARE (Civilian Carry Assessment and Range Evaluation) Protocol: Click Here
Updated PTC Safe Handling Certificate: Click Here *This certificate must be completed and uploaded to your application via the portal. If this form is required for you as per the CCARE Memorandum dated 09/15/2023 it can be mailed to headquarters or dropped off at our Records Bureau.
Additional Handguns to be Carried Form: Click Here
Conceal Carry Use of Force Training: Click Here
The Concealed Carry Permit Application is now online. To begin the application process: Click Here
We will no longer be accepting paper applications. All applications must be submitted through the online portal.
You must enter the correct ORI Number for Monroe Township Police, Middlesex County NJ0121300
Upload a current photo and save.
Prior to being permitted to carry a firearm a person shall take and successfully complete a firearms training course administered by the Police Training Commission pursuant to P.L. 1961, c.56 (C.52:17B-66 et seq.), and shall annually qualify in the use of a handgun or similar weapon prior to being permitted to carry a firearm.
-Upload a copy of your qualification scores and certificate of completion.
-Complete the online “New Jersey State Safety and Awareness Training” in the portal.
-Enter your SBI Number to continue.
If you do not have an SBI number, you must first apply for a Firearms ID Card in order to be assigned one.
You can complete that application by Clicking Here
Enter the required personal information.
Add all Handguns that you intend to carry.
Provide 4 references. You must have known each reference for at least 3 years and they cannot be related to the applicant by blood or law.
* Please advise your references that the FARS System will email them the reference questions to be answered. Your reference can complete the questions using a smartphone, mobile device, laptop, or desktop computer. Please advise them to complete the questions immediately to progress your background investigation.
Pay the initial fees online.
$50 Statutory Application Fee (plus $5 Online Service Fee)
$18 Background Check Fee (plus $3 Online Service Fee)
Once submitted, the Monroe Twp. Police Department Firearms Unit will process your application and advise you of the outcome. The remaining $150 is due at the time of approval via Check or Money Order payable to the “Monroe Twp. Police Department” or Credit Card Payment at the Monroe Twp. Police Department Records Bureau (Open Monday – Friday, 8am -4pm, except holidays).
Additional information can be found on the New Jersey State Police website: NJSP Firearms